Final Week for 2024 DarkSky Awards Nominations

by | Jun 24, 2024 | News

2024 DarkSky Awards

Nominations for the 2024 DarkSky Awards are closing soon, and the clock is ticking to celebrate the champions of the dark sky movement. This annual recognition honors individuals who have made significant strides in protecting our night skies from light pollution.

Award Categories and Criteria:

1. Crawford/Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award: Recognizes a lifetime dedicated to reducing light pollution. Nominate those with significant recent achievements in light pollution abatement.

2. Hoag/Robinson Award: Honors individuals outstanding in educating the public and organizations about outdoor lighting control.

3. Galileo Award: Celebrates exceptional research or academic work on light pollution.

4. Lighting Technological Innovation Award: Given for innovative lighting products supporting dark sky protection.

5. Dark Sky Defender Award: Recognizes exceptional efforts in promoting and advancing DarkSky’s mission to reduce light pollution.

6. Rising Star Award: Acknowledges students showing commitment to dark sky conservation and research.

7. Bob Gent Community Leadership Award: Awarded to community members demonstrating outstanding local achievements in combatting light pollution.

8. Wildlife Night Watch Award: Recognizes efforts to protect species sensitive to artificial light.

9. Dark Sky Place of the Year: Honors an International Dark Sky Place for exceptional achievements.

Each awardee receives a personalized award, a congratulatory letter from DarkSky’s President, and a complimentary one-year membership. Nominations close June 30, 2024, with winners announced in November during the Under One Sky conference.

How to Nominate: Submit nominations online, including the nominee’s details and supporting rationale. Self-nominations are not accepted, and DarkSky staff or board members are ineligible.

Nominate your dark sky hero today and help us honor those making a difference for our night skies. For more details, click here.

Deadline 30 June.